Mahatma Gandhi University (commonly referred to as MG University or MGU) is a Government University established by the Govt of Kerala. It was established on Gandhi Jayanti Day, 2 October 1983 in the Kottayam district of Kerala state. Mahatma Gandhi University (formerly Gandhiji University), has been approved by UGC and accredited (A) by the National Assessment and Accreditation Council of India. The university has around 300 affiliated colleges spread over five districts in the central Travancore of Kerala. University having 22 Statutory teaching schools and one  International Inter-University Centre and 17 Inter-University/Inter School centres and approximately 50 faculties for doing Research.