Established on 2nd October, 1983, Mahatma Gandhi University is one of the major Universities in Kerala, which has evolved into a premier educational institution that caters to fulfil the higher educational needs of the people from Central Kerala.

The university spans across the expansive 110-acre Priyadarsini Hills Campus located at Athirampuzha, approximately 12 kilometres away from Kottayam. Additionally, it has two satellite campuses situated in Kottayam itself. The university’s jurisdiction  encompasses the entire revenue districts of Kottayam, Ernakulam, and Idukki, as well as parts of Pathanamthitta and Alappuzha.

The Institution provides a broad spectrum of academic programmes at  the Undergraduate, Postgraduate, M Phil, and Doctoral levels through its 30 University Departments, 1 International and Inter-University Centre, 7 Inter-University Centres, 9 Inter School Centres, 1 National centre, 3 International centres, 79 Govt./Aided Affiliated Colleges including10 Autonomous Colleges, 194 Unaided Affiliated Colleges and 225 Recognized Research Centres.

The institution’s educational focus covers a broad spectrum, embracing the interdisciplinary as well as conventional disciplines of Science and Humanities besides professional disciplines.

The university’s affiliated colleges offer a wide range of specialisations at the Under graduate, Post graduate and Professional levels .There are 50 specialisations for Bachelor of Arts (B.A), 39 for Bachelor of Science (B.Sc), 17 for Bachelor of Commerce (B.Com), 33 for Master of Arts (M.A), 51 for Master of Science (M.Sc) and 5 for Master of Commerce (M.Com) programmes. 

The statistics of various Schools/Departments, Centres and Affiliated Colleges managed by Our University is as follows:

  • Statutory Teaching Schools/Departments: 30
  • International and Inter University Centre: 1
  • Inter University Centres: 7
  • Inter School Centres: 9
  • International Centres: 3
  • National Centre: 1
  • Other Centres : 8
  • Govt/Aided Affiliated Colleges: 79
  • Unaided/Self Financing colleges : 194
  • Research Centres : 225

Affiliated Colleges


  • Arts & Science Colleges: 60
  • Govt  College of Music and Fine Arts:  1
  • Govt Law College:  1
  • Aided Training Colleges: 7
  • Autonomous Arts & Science College (Govt):  1
  • Autonomous Arts & Science Colleges (Aided):  9


  • College of Physical Education : 1
  • Training Colleges : 42
  • Law Colleges: 6
  • Self-Financing Arts & Science Colleges:137
  •  Colleges of Architecture: 8