Year  Date Particulars
1982  October 18 Kerala Government decides to set up a new University in Kottayam. Sri. T. K. Koshy appointed as Special Officer
1983 July 11 Office inaugurated in Baker Memorial Girls High School Campus, Kottyam bySri. T. M. Jacob, Minister for Education
October 2 Gandhiji University Ordinance 1983 (No.34 of 1983) promulgated and Sri. T. K. Koshy took charge as Pro-Vice-Chancellor
October 26 Inauguration of Gandhiji University by His Excellency Gyani Zail Singh, President of India
1984 January 19 Prof. Dr. A. T. Devasia assumes charge as first Vice-Chancellor
January 27 Prof. N. Babu assumes charge as Controller of Examinations.
February 16 Sri. K. Jayakumar IAS joins as Registrar
June 23 Syndicate and Senate constituted
July 7 First meeting of the Syndicate
August 15 Office of the University shifted to Padinjarekkara buildings
1987 July 27 Prof. U. R. Ananthamurthy assumes charge as Vice-Chancellor
1988 January 28 Renamed as Mahatma Gandhi University
1991 July 27 Sri. J. S. Badhan IAS assumes charge as Vice-Chancellor (i/c)
1992 February 6 Dr. A. Sukumarn Nair assumes charge as Vice-Chancellor
 1995 May 16 Dr. K. G. Adiyodi assumes charge as Vice-Chancellor (i/c)
May 22 Sri. N. Chandrasekharan Nair IAS assumes charge as Vice-Chancellor (i/c)
November 29 Sri. K. Jayakumar IAS assumes charge as Vice-Chancellor (i/c)
1996 March 25 Dr. V. N. Rajasekharan Pillai assumes charge as Vice-Chancellor
2000  March 25 Sri. N. Chandra Sekharan Nair IAS assumes charge as Vice-Chancellor(i/c)
 November 16 Prof.(Dr.) Cyriac Thomas assumes charge as Vice-Chancellor
2004 November 16 Prof.(Dr.) Jancy James assumes charge as Vice-Chancellor
2008 November 16 Prof.(Dr.) Rajan Gurukkal assumes charge as Vice-Chancellor
2012 November 16 Dr K.M Abraham IAS assumes charge as Vice-Chancellor(i/c)
2013 January 5 Dr A.V. George Assumes charge as Vice Chancellor
2014 May 12 Dr Sheena Shukkur, PVC assumes charge of Vice Chancellor
2014 September 1 Dr . Babu Sebastian Assumes charge as Vice Chancellor
2016 December University won the Chancellor’s Award during 2015-16 for the Best University in the State
2017 October University Re-accredited by NAAC with A Grade
2018 January University attained 34 position in NIRF All India MHRD Ranking
2019 March 7 The University won the best State University Chancellor’s Award for the second time during 2017-18
2019   Mahatma Gandhi University ranked 30 in NIRF ranking . 
2019 May 28 Prof. (Dr). Sabu Thomas assumes charge as Vice Chancellor 
2019 August 19

Mahatma Gandhi University has established a convergence academia complex on its campus

2019 December

University’s research project got selected for “BRICS STI FRAME WORK PROGRAMME”