Mahatma Gandhi University, one of the major Universities in Kerala, is a premier educational institution that strives to fulfill the higher educational needs of the people of Central Kerala. Set on the sprawling 110-acre Priyadarsini Hills Campus at Athirampuzha, 13 km off Kottayam, the University also has two satellite campuses in Kottayam. The University was established on 2nd October 1983 and has jurisdiction over the revenue districts of Kottayam, Ernakulam, Idukki and parts of Pathanamthitta and Alappuzha. The University conducts a range of programmes at the Undergraduate, Postgraduate, M Phil and Doctoral levels through its 30 University Departments, 1 International and Inter-University Centre, 7 Inter-University Centres, 9 Inter School Centres, 1 National centre, 3 International centres, 79 Govt./Aided Affiliated Colleges including10 Autonomous Colleges, 194 Unaided Affiliated Colleges and 225 Recognized Research Centres. It imparts education in the interdisciplinary as well as conventional disciplines of Science, Social Science and Humanities besides in the professional disciplines of Engineering, Technology, Legal Studies, Pedagogy, Pharmacy and Nursing.

The University is well known for the wide variety of specialisations it offers for the various Under graduate, Post graduate and Professional programmes through its affiliated colleges keeping pace with industry and market requirements. There are 50 specialisations for Bachelor of Arts (B.A), 39 for Bachelor of Science (B.Sc), 17 for Bachelor of Commerce (B.Com), 33 for Master of Arts (M.A), 51 for Master of Science (M.Sc) and 5 for Master of Commerce (M.Com) programmes. 

At present, MGU offers research programme in forty disciplines through its own schools as well as its approved research centres. The University is also involved in active collaboration with research institutions of international reputation such as Max Plank Institute of Technology, Germany, Brown University, USA, California Institute of Technology, USA, University of Toronto, Canada, Catholic University, Belgium, Institute of Political Studies, France, University of Paris, Swinburne University, Australia. In order to provide opportunities for the students to acquire deeper insight into their subject of study Erudite scholar in Residence Programme was also initiated in which several Nobel Laureates are invited for direct interaction with them.