MGU NSS completes 100 Homes for the Poor; Minister Appreciates

In a gesture of commendation, Minister Dr. R. Bindu congratulated Mahatma Gandhi University for the successful establishment of the “Snehaveedu” (Home of Love) project aimed at supporting 100 impoverished families.

Implemented under the National Service Scheme (NSS), each home bears the essence of compassion and care for families in need. The Minister handed over the keys to 10 of these houses during the annual NSS meet held at the University.

Commending the University’s timely completion of the project’s first phase, Minister Bindu acknowledged the pivotal role played by NSS volunteers and coordinating teachers. Setting ambitious targets, the initiative now aims to extend its impact with a goal of completing 300 houses by July 2024.

Noteworthy is the collaborative effort of three women’s colleges, which have contributed to the construction of over 50 houses under the Snehaveedu project, she added.

In addition to housing initiatives, Minister Bindu dedicated 215 “Sneharamams” (Gardens of Love), which were made by converting public places previously used for waste dumping.

Recognising excellence within the NSS community, Minister Bindu conferred awards to outstanding units for their exemplary service during the 2022-23 period. CMS College, Kottayam received the prestigious award for the best unit, with Sacred Heart College, Thevara securing the second prize. St. Kuriakose College of Management Kuruppumpadi was honoured with the Best Emerging Unit Award, showcasing the spirit of innovation and dedication among NSS volunteers.

The NSS meet was inaugurated by V.N. Vasavan, Minister for Cooperation and Ports, who emphasised the remarkable contribution of NSS to social sustainability.

The function was presided over by Vice-Chancellor Dr. C.T. Aravindakumar. University Syndicate members including Adv. Reji zachariah, P. Harikrishnan, Dr. Biju Thomas, Dr. A. Jose, Dr. S. Shajila Beevi, Dr. Biju Pushpan, Babu Michael, NSS State Coordinator Dr. R.N. Anzer, Collegiate Education Deputy Director Dr. R. Pragash, University Registrar Dr. K. Jayachandran, NSS Coordinator Dr. E.N. Shivadasan, and District Coordinator K.R. Ajeesh were also present.