Mahatma Gandhi University’s ICPS Granted Membership to UArctic

The International Centre for Polar Studies (ICPS) at Mahatma Gandhi University has been granted membership to the University of the Arctic (UArctic), an international cooperative network based in the Circumpolar Arctic region. This network comprises universities, colleges and organisations dedicated to advancing education and research in the Arctic region.
The decision to accept ICPS as a Member University was made during the 5th UArctic Assembly Meeting held in Bodø, Norway. Dr. C.T. Aravindakumar, Vice Chancellor of MGU, who participated in the assembly, underscored the manifold advantages of this membership, placing a strong emphasis on the opportunities for collaboration and engagement with experts not only within the Arctic region but also on a global scale.
In a significant development this year, the University of the Arctic (UArctic) welcomed sixteen new members into its esteemed network, with five from Arctic countries and eleven from non-Arctic countries. MGU secured its place among the non-polar section, alongside universities such as Liverpool, Hull, Westminster, and Stirling, as well as the Royal College of Art from the United Kingdom. Currently, there are only four members from India, including the Indian Maritime University in Chennai.
ICPS, established in 2022, is a collaborative effort of the School of Environmental Sciences, the School of International Relations and Politics, and the Inter-University Centre for Social Science Research and Extension at Mahatma Gandhi University. The centre actively engages in the study and research of both scientific and social science aspects of the Polar region. Experts from ICPS, including its current Director and Vice Chancellor, Dr. C.T. Aravindakumar, are actively involved in research activities in the area.