Mahatma Gandhi University,Priyadarsini Hills P O,
Kottayam-686560.Tl:0481-2731041, e-mail: This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it




Established in 1988, the School of Letters had some of the best literary minds of India to guide its activities in the formative days. These include : Jnanapitha award winner Prof. U.R. Anantha Murthy, the Vice-Chancellor of Mahatma Gandhi University during 1987-1991, who conceived the idea of an interdisciplinary centre of literary studies and research, and the late Prof. G. Sankara Pillai, the Founder and the first Director of the School, who gave concrete shape to the idea. Prof. Narendra Prasad, was the Director of the School from 1989 to 2003. The members of the faculty and students have received coveted honours at State and National Levels in the field of literature, critical theory, theatre and films. The present Director Prof. K. S. Radhakrishnan has received one National Award and three State Awards in film writing/criticism. Prof. P.P. Raveendran has been a recipient of Kendra Sahitya Academy Award and Dr. Jose K. Manuel has netted State Film Award. Sidharth Siva, who continues to be a scholar in the School has so far received several State and National Awards for his contributions to Malayalam Cinema (101 Chodyangal and Ine).


Programmes At The School

• MA Malayalam
• MA English
• MPhil Malayalam
• MPhil English
• MPhil Theatre Arts
• PhD in English Malayalam, Comparative Literature,
Cultural Studies and Theatre Arts