

Mahatma Gandhi University Priyadarshini Hills P.O, Kottayam – 686560.

Website: <u>www.mgu.ac.in</u> Email: <u>election@mgu.ac.in</u> / <u>registrar@mgu.ac.in</u> Phone: Registrar - 0481-2731007, PRO - 0481- 2732650

No: 3110/1/2014/Elen.

Date: 04.01.2023

NOTIFICATION

Sub: Mahatma Gandhi University – Reconstitution of Senate – Election of members – reg.

Ref: 01. Chapter IV, Section 17, Elected Members (1), (3), (4), (5), (6), (7), (8), (9), (10), (11) of the Mahatma Gandhi University Act, 1985

02. Statute 32 of Chapter 44 of the Mahatma Gandhi University Statutes 1997

Whereas it has become necessary under Section 18 (1), Chapter IV of the Mahatma Gandhi University Act, 1985 to reconstitute the Senate, it is hereby notified as per Statute 32 of Chapter 44 of the Mahatma Gandhi University Statutes 1997, that elections will be held to elect the members detailed below coming under Chapter IV, Section 17 - Elected Members, sub-sections (1), (3), (4), (5), (6), (7), (8), (9), (10) and (11) of the Mahatma Gandhi University Act, 1985, in accordance with the system of proportional representation by means of single transferable vote.

- Section 17 Elected Members (1) Eleven Principals elected from among themselves of whom two shall be from among Principals of Government Colleges, one from among Principals of Professional Colleges and one from among Principals of Junior Colleges.
- Section 17 Elected Members (3) Six members elected by the members of the Legislative Assembly of Kerala from among the members representing the electorate of the University area, of whom one shall be a member of a Scheduled Caste.
- Section 17 Elected Members (4) Three members elected by the teachers of the University from among themselves.
- Section 17 Elected Members (5) Three members elected by the teachers of Government Colleges from among themselves.
- 5. **Section 17 Elected Members (6)** Sixteen members elected by the teachers of Private Colleges from among themselves.
- 6. Section 17 Elected Members (7) Three members elected by the Mayors of Municipal Corporations, the Chairmen of Municipalities and the Presidents of Panchayats within the University area from among themselves, of whom one shall be the Mayor of a Municipal Corporation or the Chairman of a Municipality.

- Section 17 Elected Members (8) Two members elected by the Registered Trade Unions in the University area designated by Statutes, from among their members.
- 8. **Section 17 Elected Members (9)** One member elected by the members of the non-teaching staff of University from among themselves.
- Section 17 Elected Members (10) Three members elected by the members of the non-teaching staff of the affiliated colleges from among themselves of whom one shall be a member of the nonteaching staff of a Government College.
- 10. **Section 17 Elected Members (11)** Three members elected by the Managers of the Private Colleges in the University area from among themselves.

Only persons whose names are on the electoral rolls of the respective constituencies, already published, are eligible to take part in the elections and vote thereat, subject to the provisions contained in the Statutes. Every elector is at liberty to nominate one duly qualified person to each seat. Every Nomination Paper shall be proposed by an elector with his signature whose name is on the electoral roll and seconded by another elector with his signature. The candidate shall then sign a declaration on it, expressing his willingness to serve on the Senate, if elected. The candidate, the proposer and the seconder shall belong to the same constituency.

Nominations shall be made in the prescribed form, which shall, on application, be supplied free of cost by the Returning Officer to any elector whose name is on the electoral roll. The candidates shall either in person or by his proposal, deliver the nominations between the hours of eleven O' clock in the forenoon and three O' clock in the afternoon to the Returning Officer at his office.

The following is the programme for the conduct of the election:-

1.	Date of Notification	:	04/01/2023					
2.	Last date and hour for receipt of Nominations	:	20/01/2023 3.00 p.m.	(For all Constituencies)				
3.	Place	:	Office of the Returning Officer					
4.	Venue for Scrutiny of Nominations and Scrutiny and Counting of Votes	•	University Office at Priyadarshini Hills, Athirampuzha, Kottayam.					

PROGRAMME	CONSTITUENCY												
	Principals	MLA	University Teachers	Govt. College Teachers	Private College Teachers	Panchayat President/ Municipality Chairman/ Mayor	Regd. Trade Unions	Non Teaching Staff of University	Non Teaching Staff of Colleges	Manager			
Date and hour for Scrutiny of Nominations	24/01/23 11.00 am	23/01/23 11.00 am	24/01/23 12.00 am	27/01/23 11.00 am	27/01/23 02.00 pm	23/01/23 12.00 pm	23/01/23 02.00 pm	24/01/23 02.00 pm	27/01/23 12.00 pm	23/01/23 03.00 pm			
Date and hour for publication of the list of valid Nominations	24/01/23	23/01/23	24/01/23	27/01/23	27/01/23	23/01/23	23/01/23	24/01/23	27/01/23	23/01/23			
Last date and hour for withdrawal of Candidature (Not less than 5 clear days after the last date for the receipt of nomination)	03/02/23 11.30 am		03/02/23 11.30 am	03/02/23 11.30 am	03/02/23 11.30 am	03/02/23 11.30 am	03/02/23 11.30 am	03/02/23 11.30 am	03/02/23 11.30 am	03/02/2 11.30 ar			
Date and hour for publication of the final list of valid Nominations	03/02/23	03/02/23	03/02/23	03/02/23	03/02/23	03/02/23	03/02/23	03/02/23	03/02/23	03/02/23			
Date of Issue of Ballot Papers	21/02/23 to 27/02/23	21/02/23 to 27/02/23	NA	NA	NA	21/02/23 to 27/02/23	21/02/23 to 27/02/23	NA	NA	21/02/23 to 27/02/23			
Date and Hours of Polling in the case of polling at booths	NA	NA	14/02/23 10.00 am to 01.00pm	01/03/23 10.00 am to 01.00pm	01/03/23 10.00 am to 01.00pm	NA	NA	16/02/23 09.00 am to 01.00pm	01/03/23 10.00 am to 01.00pm	NA			
Place of Poll	NA	NA	Uty. Assembly Hall	College Concerned	College Concerned	NA	NA	Uty. Assembly Hall	College Concerned	NA			
Last date and hour for receipt of marked ballot papers	15/03/23 1.00 pm	15/03/23 1.00 pm	NA	NA	NA	15/03/23 1.00 pm	15/03/23 1.00 pm	NA	NA	15/03/23 1.00 pm			
Date and hour for the Scrutiny and Counting of Votes	16/03/23 10.00 am onwards		14/02/23 2.00 pm onwards	23/03/23 10.00 am onwards	24/03/23 10.00 am onwards	20/03/23 10.00 am onwards	21/03/23 10.00 am onwards	16/02/23 2.00 pm onwards	27/03/23 10.00 am onwards	22/03/23 10.00 an onwards			

HARI P JOINT REGISTRAR II (ADMN) RETURNING OFFICER