

Mahatma Gandhi University

Priyadarsini Hills, Kottayam.

No. 3110/1/2014/Elen

Dated: 02-08-2018

NOTIFICATION

Sub: Reconstitution of the Senate of Mahatma Gandhi University- reg.

It is hereby notified that the Senate of Mahatma Gandhi University, for the period 2015-2019, has been reconstituted with the following members coming under section 17 of the Mahatma Gandhi University Act, 1985, in accordance with the orders of the Hon'ble High Court in its judgment dated, 01/08/2018, in WP(c) 24004/18 filed by Prakash Kumar B and others.

EX-OFFICIO MEMBERS

- 01. The Chancellor
- 02. (OMITTED)
- 03. The Vice Chancellor
- 04. The Pro-Vice-Chancellor
- 05. The Finance Secretary to Government or an officer not below the rank of Joint Secretary nominated by him.
- 06. The Director of Public Instruction
- 07. The Director of Collegiate Education
- 08. The Secretary to Government or an officer not below the rank of Joint Secretary to Government, General Education Department, to be nominated by the Government.
- 09. The Secretary to Government or an officer not below the rank of Joint Secretary to Government, Higher Education Department, to be nominated by the Government.
 - 09 (a) The Secretary to Government, Information Technology Department or an officer of the Information Technology Department not below the rank of a Joint Secretary, nominated by him.
- 10 The Director of Technical Education
- 11 The Director of Medical Education
- 12 The Chairman, State Advisory Board of Education
- 13 Seven heads of University Departments who are not otherwise members of the Senate to be nominated in the order of seniority by the Chancellor by rotation. [VACANT –TO BE NOMINATED BY THE CHANCELLOR.]
- 14 Four Deans of Faculties of the University who are not otherwise members of the Senate, to be nominated in the order of seniority by the Chancellor by rotation.[VACANT –TO BE NOMINATED BY THE CHANCELLOR.]
- 15 The Chairman of the University Union. [VACANT-ELECTION TO THE UNION YET TO TAKE PLACE]
- 16 Members of the Syndicate who are not members of the Senate

ELECTED MEMBERS

- 01. Eleven Principals.
 - Dr. Varghese K. Cherian St. Joseph training College, Mannanam
 - 2. VACANT-TO BE FILLED UP BY ELECTION
 - 3. VACANT-TO BE FILLED UP BY ELECTION
 - 4. VACANT-TO BE FILLED UP BY ELECTION
 - 5. VACANT-TO BE FILLED UP BY ELECTION
 - 6. VACANT-TO BE FILLED UP BY ELECTION
 - 7. VACANT-TO BE FILLED UP BY ELECTION

- 8. VACANT-TO BE FILLED UP BY ELECTION
- 9. VACANT-TO BE FILLED UP BY ELECTION
- 10. VACANT-TO BE FILLED UP BY ELECTION
- 11. VACANT-TO BE FILLED UP BY ELECTION

02. (OMITTED)

- 03. Six members from the Legislative Assembly of Kerala.
 - 1. Smt. E.S. Bijimol, (Peermade)
 - 2. Sri. Hybi Eden (Ernakulam)
 - 3. Sri. S. Rajendran (Devikulam)
 - 4. Sri. V.P. Sajeendran (Kunnathunadu)
 - 5. VACANT- TO BE FILLED BY ELECTION
 - 6. VACANT- TO BE FILLED BY ELECTION
- 04. Three members from among the Teachers of the University.
 - Prof. (Dr.) Prakash Kumar B Professor, School of Biosciences M.G. University, Kottayam.
 - Dr. Sibi Zacharias Associate Professor, School of Management and Business Studies, M.G. University, Kottayam
 - Dr. Anas S Assistant Professor, School of Chemical Sciences, M.G. University, Kottayam
- 05. Three members from among the Teachers of Government Colleges. [VACANT- TO BE FILLED BY ELECTION]
- 06. Sixteen members from among the teachers of Private Colleges. [VACANT DUE TO COURT CASE]
- 07. Three members from among the Mayors of Municipal Corporations, Chairmen of Municipalities and Presidents of Panchayats. [VACANT DUE TO CHANGE IN POSITION]
- 08. Two members from among the Registered Trade Unions in the University Area.
 - Sri. E P Ismayil, President Kottayam District Head Load & General Workers Association Kottayam
 - Sri. P.J. Ajayakumar President Pathanamthitta District Plantation Workers Union
- 09. One member from among the members of the non-teaching staff of University
 - Sri. Padmakumar P Section Officer, M G University, Kottayam.
- 10. Three members from among the non-teaching staff of affiliated colleges.
 - Sri. Sinu P. Nazar Senior Clerk Maharaja's College Ernakulam

- Sri. A.U. Moncy U.D. Clerk St. Thomas College Ranni
- 3 Sri. Jacob C. Ninan Lower Division Clerk Catholicate College Pathanamthitta
- 11. Three members from among the Managers of Private Colleges.
 - Fr. Felix Chackalackal Manager St. Paul's College Kalamassery
 - Sri. K.M. Moosa Manager Al-Azhar College of Arts & Science Thodupuzha
 - Sri. A.M. Aboobacker Manager KMM College of Arts & Science Thrikkakara
- 12. Fifteen students elected by the General Council of the University Union.

[VACANT-ELECTION TO THE UNION YET TO TAKE PLACE]

OTHER MEMBERS

- 01. Two Headmasters of High Schools and two Teachers of Schools situated within the University area. [VACANT –TO BE NOMINATED BY THE CHANCELLOR.]
- 02. (i) Member representing recognised Research Institutions.
 [VACANT –TO BE NOMINATED BY THE CHANCELLOR.]
 (ii) Member representing recognised Cultural Associations.
 - (iii) Member representing recognised Cultural Associations. [VACANT –TO BE NOMINATED BY THE CHANCELLOR.] (iii) Member representing Chambers of Commerce.
 - [VACANT –TO BE NOMINATED BY THE CHANCELLOR.] (iv) Member representing Industries.

[VACANT –TO BE NOMINATED BY THE CHANCELLOR.] (v) Author.

[VACANT –TO BE NOMINATED BY THE CHANCELLOR.] (vi) Journalist.

[VACANT –TO BE NOMINATED BY THE CHANCELLOR.] (vii) Lawyer.

- [VACANT –TO BE NOMINATED BY THE CHANCELLOR.] (viii) Member representing Sports and Games.
- [VACANT –TO BE NOMINATED BY THE CHANCELLOR.] (ix) Member representing Linguistic minorities.
- [VACANT TO BE NOMINATED BY THE CHANCELLOR.] (x) Artist.
- [VACANT –TO BE NOMINATED BY THE CHANCELLOR.] (xi) Anglo Indian.

[VACANT -TO BE NOMINATED BY THE CHANCELLOR.]

03. Four students, one having outstanding academic ability in Humanities, one having outstanding ability in Science, one having outstanding ability in Sports and one having outstanding ability in Fine Arts.

[VACANT -TO BE NOMINATED BY THE CHANCELLOR.]

04. (OMITTED)

The term of office of the above members shall be governed by section 18 of the Mahatma Gandhi University Act, 1985 and statute 31 of chapter 44 of the Mahatma Gandhi University Statutes, 1997.

Separate notification(s) will be issued in respect of the vacant posts as and when they are filled by election / nomination.

Sd/-

REGISTRAR

Copy to:

- 1. All members.
- 2. The Secretary to Governor (with CL).
- 3. The Principal Secretary, Higher Education (B) Dept. (with CL).
- 4. PS to VC / PVC.
- 5. PA to Registrar / FO / CE / DCDC.
- 6. PRO.
- 7. All JRs / DRs / ARs.
- 8. All HODs.
- 9. Ac C / Ad B IV / Audit / Cash / Ad BVI.
- 10. Govt. Auditor.
- 11. Stock file / File Copy.